$45 Million in READI 2.0 Funding Awarded to Southern Indiana

$45 Million in READI 2.0 Funding Awarded to Southern Indiana

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (April 11, 2024) – Governor Eric J. Holcomb announced plans to award $500 million to 15 regions representing all 92 counties to support quality of place and quality of life initiatives statewide. The funding, made available through the expansion of the Indiana Regional Acceleration and Development Initiative (READI), was approved today by the Indiana Economic Development Corporation (IEDC) board of directors at a special session hosted by the governor and Secretary of Commerce David Rosenberg. READI 2.0 will grow the state’s overall program commitment to $1 billion, marking an unprecedented state-led investment in cultivating vibrant, modern and sustainable communities that attract and retain top talent.

“Indiana is leading the way in future-focused investments in our economy and in our communities, ensuring that all Hoosiers of today and tomorrow have the opportunity to prosper,” said Gov. Holcomb. “READI has already resulted in more than $12.6 billion invested in quality of place and quality of life assets. The second iteration of the initiative – READI 2.0 – along with additional committed investments from the Lilly Endowment, will bring billions more to Hoosier neighborhoods, preparing communities, industry and talent for the next generation and beyond.”

READI Funding Map

In February, the 15 regions submitted proposals for READI 2.0 funding, outlining each region’s vision for its future as well as growth strategies and action plans to improve its quality of life, quality of place and quality of opportunity. An external review committee evaluated the applications based on a variety of factors, including economic development potential, alignment with the state’s priorities, such as population growth, per capita income growth, growth in employment opportunities, educational attainment, housing units developed, childcare capacity and innovation activities as well as the level of focus on rural communities, and the degree of regional collaboration.

The ‘Our Southern Indiana’ region, which includes Clark, Floyd, Jefferson, Scott, and Washington Counties, will receive $45 million in READI 2.0 funding.  That is the maximum allocated amount for any region throughout the State of Indiana.

Tammi Gibson, Economic Development Director
Tammi Gibson, Economic Development Director

“Clarksville is fortunate to be a part of the Our Southern Indiana Region,” said Tammi Gibson, Clarksville Economic Development Director.  “With the work that the Regional team (RDA) has put into READI 1.0 and the preparation that has been done for READI 2.0, it is no surprise that our region is one that received the top award of $45 Million. The RDA has been well engaged with the counties of the region to hear project ideas for this round of funding and Clarksville is proud to have been included in presentations and site visits. The town is prepared to submit multiple applications for funding to keep the momentum of progress going, while making Clarksville a place where residents can be proud to live.”

Now that investment allocations have been finalized, the IEDC will coordinate with each of the 15 areas to identify regionally significant capital and infrastructure projects for investment. In conjunction with these discussions, each region will identify specific projects focused on blight reduction and redevelopment as well as arts and culture initiatives for funding opportunities made possible with the support of Lilly Endowment Inc.

The regions and funding allocations are:

Accelerate Rural Indiana – awarded $30 million
Led by: Accelerate Rural Indiana Regional Development Authority
Counties: Decatur, Rush, Shelby + City: Batesville

Central Indiana – awarded $45 million
Led by: Central Indiana Regional Development Authority
Counties: Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Madison, Marion, Morgan, Putnam

East Central – awarded $35 million
Led by: East Central Indiana Regional Partnership
Counties: Blackford, Delaware, Fayette, Grant, Henry, Jay, Randolph, Wayne

Greater Lafayette – awarded $35 million
Led by: Greater Lafayette Commerce Community and Economic Development Foundation
Counties: Benton, Carroll, Fountain, Montgomery, Tippecanoe, Warren, White

Indiana First – awarded $15 million
Led by: Southwest Indiana Development Council
Counties: Harrison, Knox, Perry, Pike, Spencer

Indiana Uplands – awarded $30 million
Led by: Regional Opportunity Initiatives Inc.
Counties: Brown, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Orange, Owen

North Central – awarded $35 million
Led by: North Central Indiana Regional Planning Council
Counties: Cass, Clinton, Fulton, Howard, Miami, Tipton

Northeast – awarded $45 million
Led by: Northeast Indiana RDA
Counties: Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Kosciusko, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, Whitley

Northwest – awarded $45 million
Led by: Northwest Indiana Forum
Counties: Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Jasper, Newton, Pulaski, Starke

Our Southern Indiana – awarded $45 million
Led by: Our Southern Indiana Regional Development Authority
Counties: Clark, Floyd, Jefferson, Scott, Washington

South Bend-Elkhart – awarded $45 million
Led by: Northern Indiana Regional Development Authority
Counties: Elkhart, Marshall, St. Joseph

South Central – awarded $30 million
Led by: Southern Indiana Housing and Community Development Corporation
Counties: Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings + Town: Edinburgh

Southeast – awarded $10 million
Led by: SEI READI Inc.
Counties: Dearborn, Ohio, Switzerland, Union, Franklin, Ripley (excludes city of Batesville)

Southwest – awarded $45 million
Led by: Southwest Indiana RDA (SWIRDA)
Counties: Gibson, Posey, Vanderburgh, Warrick

Wabash River – awarded $10 million
Led by: Wabash River RDA
Counties: Clay, Parke, Sullivan, Vermillion, Vigo