#### MINUTES FOR THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE CLARKSVILLE YOUTH COUNCIL December 2, 2022 at 8:15am. Virtual Via Microsoft Teams

### CALL TO ORDER

A meeting of the Clarksville Youth Council was called to order on December 2, 2022 at 8:16am by President Alondra Feng-Baez.

Council Members Present: Alondra Feng-Baez, Jillian Hinton, Regan Hinton, Garrett Skaggs, Eva Wheatley, Abigail Hicks, and Lorianna Liu. Council Members Absent: Aidan Niemi

# PUBLIC COMMENTS

None

# **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

### 3.1 Discussion of Youth Council Priorities (Garrett Skaggs, Aidan Niemi)

- Aidan Niemi was unable to attend the meeting due to a test in first period.

- Garrett Skaggs needed to table his presentation until the January meeting.

# NEW BUSINESS

### 4.1 Mental Health Awareness Campaign

- The Youth Council voted at the November meeting to use their \$1,000 grant from the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana for a Mental Health Awareness campaign for kids. Members were asked to come up with ideas on how to proceed and present them at today's meeting.

- Alondra Feng-Baez talked with teachers about possible options including adding a recess for High School students so they can relax and unwind.

- Abigail Hicks suggested we create posters in schools with the number for the suicide hotline. Advisor Ken Conklin also suggested the posters include other mental health resources as well.

- Eva Wheatley liked the poster idea and suggested the Youth Council design the posters.

- Garrett Skaggs suggested including a QR code that links to mental health resources.

- Advisor Ken Conklin suggested holding a poster design contest in the schools, which will encourage parents to talk to their children about mental health.

- Abigail Hicks motioned to use the grant funds to hold a Mental Health Awareness Poster Contest. Eva Wheatley seconded the motion. Approved with a vote of 7-0.

- Clarksville HS (Alondra & Garrett) will coordinate with Elementary Schools, Providence HS (Jillian & Regan) will coordinate with the Middle Schools, Silver Creek (Eva and Lorianna) will coordinate with the High Schools.

- Advisor Ken Conklin will create a basic rules sheet for the contest and send it out to the Youth Council members for review/corrections.

-Eva Wheatley motioned to provide gift cards to the winners of the contest (\$75 for 1st Place, \$50 for 2<sup>nd</sup> Place, and \$25 for 3<sup>rd</sup> Place). Abigail Hicks seconded the motion. Approved with a vote of 7-0.

- The goal will be to have the contest run from January 1<sup>st</sup> through January 31<sup>st</sup>, with judging to take place at the February meeting of the Youth Council.

# 4.2 Election of Officers

- Youth Council officers serve a term of 6 months. The current officers' terms end on December 31<sup>st</sup>. New officers need to be selected to serve January 2023-June 2023.

- Alondra Feng-Baez opened the floor for nominations for President.

- Eva Wheatley motioned that she serves as President. Motion seconded by Abigail Hicks. Motion was approved 7-0.

- Alondra Feng-Baez opened the floor for nominations for Vice-President.

- Alondra Feng-Baez motioned that she serves as Vice-President. Motion seconded by Eva Wheatley. Motion was approved 7-0.

- Alondra Feng-Baez opened the floor for nominations for Secretary.

- Lorianna Liu motioned that she serves as Secretary. Motion was seconded by Eva Wheatley. Motion was approved 7-0.

### **BOARD AND COMMISSION REPORTS**

\*Alondra Feng-Baez - Redevelopment Commission

- Not receiving minutes from the RDC. Ken will contact the RDC to correct this issue.

\*Eva Wheatley - Parks and Recreation Board

- Planning to attend the next Parks Board meeting on December 14<sup>th</sup>.

\*Jillian Hinton – Tourism Board of Managers

- Nothing of interest or importance to report.

\*Regan Hinton – Historical Preservation Commission

- Nothing of interest or importance to report.

\*Aidan Niemi – Building Commission

- Not Present/No Report

\*Abigail Hicks – Metro Board of Police, Fire, and Safety

- Not receiving minutes. Ken will contact the board to correct this issue.

\*Lorianna Liu – Ohio River Greenway Commission

- Not Receiving Minutes. Ken will contact the board to correct this issue.

\*Garrett Skaggs – Planning Commission

- Nothing of interest or importance to report.

### YOUTH COUNCIL COMMENTS

- No Comments from the Youth Council

### ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 9:00am.