MINUTES FOR THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE CLARKSVILLE YOUTH COUNCIL

July 19, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. Clarksville Administration Building

CALL TO ORDER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A meeting of the Clarksville Youth Council was called to order on July 19, 2022 at 4:00 P.M. in the meeting room of the Clarksville Municipal Center Administration Building by Youth Council Advisor Ken Conklin, who chaired the meeting.

Council members present: Eva Wheatley, Alondra Feng-Baez, and Abigail Hicks.

Council Members Absent: Joel Menes Hernandez, Aidan Niemi, Jillian Hinton, and Regan Hinton.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Meredith Conklin, Silver Creek Middle School. Ms. Conklin addressed the Youth Council to convey her concern at the lack of public parks in north Clarksville. Ms. Conklin stated that the closest park is Lapping Park, which is a 15-minute drive or more with traffic. She also claimed there is no way for a youth to walk or bike to a local Clarksville Park from the north end. She would like the Youth Council to push for a park in the north end.

NEW BUSINESS

4.1 Introduction of Youth Council Members

All present members of the Youth Council took a few minutes to introduce themselves to the group including their name, which school they attend, what their interests are, and why they joined the Youth Council.

4.2 Youth Council Duties and Responsibilities Presentation

Youth Council Advisor Ken Conklin conducted a presentation on the responsibilities of the Youth Council and how the meetings would run. Each member of the council was given a binder with program information, agendas, and other items. Council members then had a chance to ask questions about the Youth Council operations.

4.3 Election of Officers

- -Alondra Feng-Baez and Eva Wheatley each nominated themselves for President and were seconded by Abigail Hicks. Both took a few minutes to explain why they would like to lead the council as President. Alondra Feng-Baez was elected president on a 2-1 vote.
- -Eva Wheatley nominated herself for Vice-President. Eva Wheatley was elected with a 3-0 vote.
- -Alondra Feng-Baez nominated Joel Menes Hernandez for Secretary, and it was seconded by Eva Wheatley. Joel Menes Hernandez was elected in a 3-0 vote.

4.4 Discussion on filling Open Silver Creek Council Seat

-Council Advisor Ken Conklin informed the Council that Silver Creek HS only submitted one member to join the council, leaving one seat vacant. Eva Wheatley motioned to allow Freshmen and Sophomores to be appointed to the council, in hopes that they can get another Silver Creek member. The motion was seconded by Abigail Hicks. The motion passed 3-0.

4.5 Community Foundation of Southern Indiana Grant Discussion

-Council advisor Ken Conklin informed the council that they had been awarded a \$1,000 grant for use in supporting council youth based projects. Council member Eva Wheatley suggested using the funds

to organize a school supplies drive for students in need. Alondra Feng-Baez suggested using the funds for an anti-bullying campaign. Abigail Hicks offered her services in graphic design if needed for either of the projects.

-Eva Wheatley motioned to table the discussion until the August meeting when more members of the youth council will be in attendance. Seconded by Abigail Hicks. Motion passed 3-0.

YOUTH COUNCIL COMMENTS

- -Councilwoman Eva Wheatley inquired about how to get new business on the agenda.
- -Council Advisor Ken Conklin stressed the importance of Council Members attending meetings, and the penalty if members miss too many meetings.

ADJOURNMENT

Eva Wheatley motioned to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Abigail Hicks. Motion passed 3-0. Meeting adjourned at 4:50pm.